The zzzland Times

Our travel

Updated-July 2020

*Added a video

                                 The Cinque Terre

The Cinque Terre is a rugged portion of coast on the Italian Riviera. Just west of the city of La Speza. "The Five Lands" is composed of five villages: Monterresso al Mare, Venezza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore.

 During WWII, many young men from the Cinque Terre fought for the resistance against the fascist regime of Benito Mussolini, and the subsequent Nazi German occupation of Italy. 


Manarola is a town filled with boats, at least on the lower part of it. Covered boats of all kinds line the main street, but it is hard to say when they had last been out.

It is the calmest of the Cinque Terre. It is possible to enjoy the nature with relaxing walks, above all the ?Via dell' Amore? that leads to Riomaggiore.      

The trail from Riomaggiore to Manarola is called the Via Dell'Amore ("Love Walk")







Vernazza was founded around the year Thousand. Its name comes from "Gens Vulnetia", a Roman old family.

The church of Santa Margherita d'Antiochia was constructed in 1318 in Ligurian gothic style by the Maestri Antelami.



"Land¬® ... Getting off the boat as the waves toss it around.                

                    Monterosso al mare                                       

File:Monterosso al Mare-Stemma.png  


Send to a friend